January 2019 – ESRB Advisory Scientific Committee will award the “Ieke van den Burg Prize for Research on Systemic Risk”

The European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB) is an EU body with a mission to prevent and mitigate systemic risks to financial stability. The ESRB is chaired by the President of the European Central Bank, Mario Draghi, and its membership incorporates central banks and microprudential supervisors from across the EU. The ESRB also comprises an Advisory Scientific Committee (ASC), formed by 15 academics and practitioners appointed for their financial expertise.

Prize for Research on Systemic Risk
The ESRB’s ASC will award a prize to recognise outstanding research conducted by young scholars on a topic related to the ESRB’s mission. The annual prize was established in memory of Ieke van den Burg, who was a member of the inaugural ASC between 2011 and 2014 and a member of the European Parliament between 1999 and 2009. Ms van den Burg was dedicated to the notion that finance should serve society, and this prize is administered in that spirit.

Applications should be submitted by email to ESRB-ASC_Prize@ecb.europa.eu. The application should consist of (i) a completed paper; and (ii) a scanned copy of a passport or identification card for each of the paper’s authors. The two attachments should be in .pdf format. All personal data will be processed in accordance with EU Data Protection Law (Regulation EC No. 45/2001).
The deadline for applications is 31 March 2018, midnight CET.

Further Information

Link CfP: https://www.esrb.europa.eu/shared/pdf/2018_ieke_van_den_burg_call_for_papers.en.pdf